FLYGUY OF THE WEEK – KENNY B. SMOOTH

Welcome to our very first FLYGUY of the week post! As you know here at E&E we celebrate originality, so we decided to do a weekly feature showcasing a FLYGIRL or FLYGUY of our choice, who’s style we believe should be appreciated. If you think you’ve got what it takes, email us at info@educateelevate.com for your chance to be featured. At the end of each month, we’ll choose one fly guy or girl to win some E&E goodies.

Let’s start off with a new jack swing…

KENNY B. SMOOTH  

Through the wonderful world of Tumblr we found our retro King Kenny. Part of the collective creative group TRIBE NYC (the cool guys on tumblr sporting hi-top fades & 90’s clothes – we love them – check them out!) Kenny caught our eye because he’s probably the first asian guy we’ve ever seen with a hi top fade. And he wears it well.

FULL NAME: Kenny Bui
AGE: 21
LOCATION: Toronto, Ontario CAN
TWITTER: @KennyBSmooth
OCCUPATION: New Jack Swing Performer
Tumblrhttp://www.kennybsmooth.tumblr.com/

Hey Kenny! First off tell us a lil bit about who you are & what you do…

My name is Kenny Bui, I am a New Jack Swing dancer for Tribe NYC and Tribe Toronto. I perform under the name of Kenny B. Smooth. I am basically one of the many individuals in the group that express our lifestyles based on the late 80’s and early 90s! Love it. I am from Toronto, Canada in a quiet suburban area called North York.

How would you describe your signature style?

I would describe it as late 80’s to 1992 hip hop, smoothed out on the R&B tip with a pop appeal feel to it.

What labels do you love to wear?

I am not very picky, for I feel its not what you really wear, its how you wear it.

Who are your style icons and why?

My style icons are Big Daddy Kane and Bobby Brown from New Edition. Back in the late 80’s men dressed with very colorful and abstract colors that somehow amazingly shouted respect and class on they way they were worn. It makes a lady respect an individual who looks clean cut and dapper along with the smooth attitude.

What is your favourite outfit of all time?

My favorite outfit all time would be a red blazer with dress dress pants, shiny black shoes, black dress shirt with a gold rope chain equipped with a nice shiny medallion attached to it. That outfit shouts out New Jack City for me.

What is your worst fashion faux pas?

I’d say my worst fashion faux pas, was on one night I was dancing in a nightclub on Old School night. As soon as my jam started playing, I attracted a large crowd in which I did my crazy routine of cartwheels, running man, roger rabbit, robocop, back flips and as soon as I hit the splits.. my favorite pair of acid wash jeans ripped straight down the middle, revealing my underwear. I am embarassed til this day.

Footwear of choice?

My footwear of choice right now would be my brand new pair of black shiny Kenneth Cole dress shoes, I wear dress shoes quite often due to the fact I am always dancing. It makes you light on your feet.

Who is your favourite artist?

Hmmm, this is a hard choice. But I’d have to go with Big Daddy Kane. That man can dance and rap at the same time, along with his back up twin dancers Scoob & Scrap Lover. Really something you do not see anymore.

If you could restyle any badly dressed celebrity who would it be and how would you dress them?

I really can’t hate on an celebrity, because everyone out there is just expressing themselves really. But I’d say Nicki Minaj, that girl is in need of CLOTHES! Just anything, she just needs to cover it up. I’m just agreeing with the ladies.

Who is your favourite twitter follower and why?

My favorite Twitter follower has to be @KamakacciJuice when I was only 15 he showed me the light to expressing myself as an individual. It then evolved to me helping others express themselves. Thus I found Tribe NYC, a group of individuals who helped me expand my knowledge and my craft along with my self expression.

Who’s style do you admire (non celeb)

The style I admire most is my brother Elijah Pryor also known as Kid Love. He can sure pull off anything from the vintage style and make it look like his own style. That is what I respect most about him.

Where do you get your influence for style?

Pretty much late 80’s and early 90’s R&B, New Jack Swing, and Hip-Hop videos. I look at the colorful suits, spray painted overalls, TROOP jackets, Heram pants, and pretty much just anything flashy or abstract from those music videos that really catch my eye.

What is your pet hate when it comes to fashion?

I hate it when everyone dresses the same. Such as crewnecks, snapbacks, camo, and fox tails. Some of these people need to open their minds and explore out of their comfort zones to really see whats out there in the fashion world. Self Expression is the key to happiness.

Which fashion trend would you ban forever?

I’d say.. High-Top Fades and Hollister together as an outfit. You can’t make something thats already ORIGINAL, anymore ORIGINAL.

Who would play you in a movie of your life and why?

As for the state of asian actors, there really arent much around anymore. But I would choose that brother that played DK aka. Drift King fromThe Fast and The Furious: Tokyo Drift due to our similarities from what people say.

If you could pick any item to wear from the E&E collection which would it be? 

Honestly, after checking out all of the pictures. I’d WEAR EVERYTHING. You guys at E&E are everything that I am about, I love how everyone is on point with those jackets though.

What piece of advice would you give people to educate & elevate in life?

My best advice is to keep doing what your doing, we all have similar goals to educate and elevate the youth today with the respectable fashion and pop culture of yesterday. You guys have earned my respect, I wish you guys at E&E the most success until our hair falls off. Much love from Kenny B. Smooth & everyone from The Tribe.

THANKS KENNY!

Seriously this guy lives up to his name! Make sure you follow him on twitter @KennyBSmooth & let him know what you thought of his interview! & don’t forget to leave your comments after the jump.

WWW.EDUCATEELEVATE.COM

Leave a Reply

